Court will start at 6:00 p.m. Appropriate dress is required. No talking or disruptive behavior while court is in session. Upon arrival, please check in with the bailiff and your file will be pulled. The judge will then call you in order and read the charge to you. At that point, you may plead guilty, guilty with an explanation, or not guilty.
If you plead guilty, you will be assessed an applicable fine, plus court costs. Jail time may be assessed in appropriate circumstances. The maximum penalty in the Valley Park Municipal Court is up to a $1,000 fine and/or up to 90 days jail, except on minor traffic violations (MTVs). MTVs carry a maximum fine and court cost of $225.00 total. MTVs are defined as traffic violations that can be assessed four (4) points or less by the Missouri Director of Revenue.
If you plead not guilty, you will be assigned a Trial date.
If you are charged with ‘no proof of insurance’ and you had insurance coverage in place at the time of the stop, please bring proof of insurance (at the time of the stop) with you to Court. If you demonstrate valid insurance in place at the time of the stop, your ‘no proof of insurance’ charge will be dismissed and you will not be assessed court costs.
State operating rules for municipal courts on the State of Missouri can be accessed here: Rule 037 -- Statutory and Ordinance Violations and Violation Bureaus